Tags

, , , , , , ,

Ely Writers Day was the first book event I had been to, having just held our own Fenland LitFest last month and to have had so much positive feedback, I was excited to go. My friend let me down at the last minute and I almost chickened out. But I had booked my ticket and I had been looking forward to it so I decided to be brave and go it alone.

Typewriter1

I drove to Ely, I hate driving to new places, I had never been there before so had no idea where to park or anything. I was petrified! However, on arrival, finally finding a car park, I asked a lady how much parking was and was pleased that it was free. Then, as she was helpful, I asked her if she knew where the library was. And bless her heart she walked me right up to it and told me where other places of interest where. I wish I had found out her name as she was a life-saver!

So I stopped outside for a second to ring home to let them know I was safely where I was meant to be. To my surprise a fabulous lady stopped and told me what a lovely smile I had and beautiful hair. To be honest I would have been happy with just that.

But even better still, the event was even more inspiring than I could have hoped. Just being in the room with other like-minded people, all chatting away and enjoying the enthusiasm filling the room was fantastic. So I met some lovely people and learned some great tips. Yet above all I realised that I was not alone in my pursuit. It reignited my belief. So on with the editing of the second Double Thinking Girl.

Oh, and I won a signed copy of ‘We’ll Meet Again’ by the talented Mary Nichols. Huge thank you to the organisers Rosemary Westwell, Mary McGuire and Hayley Humprey.

So my advice would be that if there is a writers event in your area go, they are so friendly and welcoming.

